Latin 2022

 ____  __
  ______     _______

Latin 2022

Guanajuato, November 7–11, 2022

Call for Papers

The 15th Latin American Theoretical Informatics Symposium LATIN 2022 will be held in Guanajuato, Mexico. LATIN is devoted to different areas in theoretical computer science including, but not limited to: algorithms (approximation, online, randomized, algorithmic game theory, etc.), analytic combinatorics  and analysis of algorithms, automata theory and formal languages, coding theory and data compression, combinatorial algorithms, combinatorial optimization, combinatorics and graph theory, complexity theory, computational algebra, computational biology, computational geometry, computational number theory, cryptology, databases and information retrieval, data structures, formal methods and security, foundations of data science and theoretical machine learning, Internet and the web, parallel and distributed computing, pattern matching, programming language theory, quantum computing, and random structures.

Important dates

All deadlines are at 23:59 anywhere on earth.
Abstract submission: May 20th, 2022, 23:59 AoE
Paper submission: May 27th, 2022 , 23:59 AoE
Notification: July 29th, 2022
Camera-ready: August 19th, 2022
Symposium: November 7-11, 2022

Instructions for authors

Papers are to be submitted in PDF format using the EasyChair server (Easychair).
Papers are to be submitted in PDF format using the EasyChair server. Submissions are limited to fifteen (15) single-column letter-size pages in Springer LNCS format (see LNCS author guidelines at unmodified Springer LNCS style file. This limit does not include references. An optional appendix (to be read at the program committee's discretion) may be included if desired. Simultaneous submission of papers to any other conference with published proceedings, as well as the submission of previously published papers, is not allowed. Papers must be written in English. If there is a physical meeting, as hoped for, for each accepted paper at least one author must register and attend the symposium to present it. Moreover, an author cannot register for multiple papers. That is, each accepted paper must have its own registrant. An exception will be made if a group of one or more authors has more papers accepted than group members.

Accepted papers will appear in the proceedings of LATIN, which will be published in Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science.


A Special Issue of ALGORITHMICA will be dedicated to selected paper of LATIN 2022.


As of 2012, the Imre Simon Test-of-Time Award is given to the LATIN paper deemed most influential among all those published at least ten years prior to the current edition of the conference. Papers published in the LATIN proceedings up to and including 2010 are eligible for the 2022 award.

Best Paper Award

Papers presented at the conference will be considered for the LATIN 2022 Alejandro Lopez-Ortiz Best Paper Award.

Conflicts of interest

During submission, authors will have to indicate conflicts of interest with members of the program committee. In short, authors have a conflict of interest with PC members

  • if one is or was the thesis advisor to the other, no matter how long ago;
  • if they shared an institutional affiliation within the prior two years;
  • if they published two or more jointly authored works in the last three years; or
  • if they are immediate family members.


The state of the Corona pandemic in November 2022 cannot be predicted now. We will do our best to have a meeting in person, but it may happen that some or all attendees participate online.

Confirmed Invited Speakers

    David Eppstein

    David Eppstein
    University of California, Irvine, USA

    Mauricio Osorio

    Mauricio Osorio
    Universidad de las Américas, Puebla, México

    Jeffrey D. Ullman

    Jeffrey D. Ullman
    2020 ACM Turing Award Recipient
    Stanford University, USA



    Francisco Rodríguez Henríquez, Centro de investigación y de Estudios Avanzados, México; Cryptography Research Centre, TII, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.


    • Martin Aumüler, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
    • Jérémy Barbay, Universidad de Chile, Chile
    • Leonid Barenboim, The Open University of Israel, Israel
    • Frédérique Bassino, Université Sorbonne Paris Nord, France
    • Luciana Buriol, Amazon, USA
    • Armando Castañeda, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, México (Chair)
    • Witold Charatonik, University of Wrocław, Poland
    • Min Chih Lin, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina
    • Amalia Duch Brown, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
    • Leah Epstein, University of Haifa, Israel
    • Martín Farach-Colton, Rutgers University, USA
    • Esteban Feuerstein, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina
    • David Flores-Peñaloza, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, México
    • Fedor Fomin, University of Bergen, Norway
    • Jesper Jansson, Kyoto University, Japan
    • Gabriela Jeronimo, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina
    • Christos Kaklamanis, University of Patras & CTI "Diophantus", Greece
    • Shuji Kijima,  Kyushu University, Japan
    • Gregory Kucherov, CNRS/LIGM, France
    • François Le Gall, Nagoya University, Japan
    • Jérémy Ledent, University of Strathclyde, UK
    • Reut Levi, IDC Herzliya, Israel
    • Giovanni Manzini, Università di Pisa, Italy
    • Andrea Marino, Universitè degli Studi di Firenze, Italy
    • Elvira Mayordomo, Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain
    • Marco Molinaro, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    • Guilherme Oliveira Mota, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
    • Lucia Moura, University of Ottawa, Canada
    • Gonzalo Navarro, Universidad de Chile, Chile
    • Rafael Oliveira, University of Waterloo, Canada
    • Daniel Panario, Carleton University, Canada
    • Gopal Pandurangan, University of Houston, USA
    • Seth Pettie, University of Michigan, USA
    • Miguel A. Pizaña, Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana, México
    • Igor Potapov, University of Liverpool, UK
    • Svetlana Puzynina, Sobolev Institute of Mathematics, Russia
    • Pablo Rotondo, Université Gustave Eiffel, France
    • Jared Saia,  University of New Mexico, USA
    • Rodrigo I. Silveira, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
    • Mohit Singh,  Georgia Tech, USA
    • José A. Soto, Universidad de Chile, Chile
    • Frank Stephan, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    • Martin Strauss, University of Michigan, USA
    • Subhash Suri,  University of California, USA
    • Dimitrios M. Thilikos, LIRMM, Université de Montpellier, CNRS, Montpellier, France
    • Christopher Thraves, Universidad de Concepción, Chile
    • Denis Trystram, Université de Grenoble Alpes, France
    • Seeun William Umboh, The University of Sydney, Australia
    • Jorge Urrutia, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, México
    • Alfredo Viola, Universidad de la República, Uruguay
    • Mikhail V. Volkov, Ural Federal University, Russia
    • Sebastian Wild, University of Liverpool, UK
    • Georg Zetzsche, Max Planck Institute, Germany


    • Tássio Naia, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil (Publicity Chair)

    • Mariano Rivera Meraz, CIMAT, Guanajuato, México (Organizing Committee chair)


    • Michael A. Bender, Stony Brook University, USA
    • Cristina G. Fernandes, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
    • Joachim von zur Gathen, Bonn-Aachen International Center for Information Technology, Germany
    • Evangelos Kranakis, Carleton University, Canada
    • Conrado Martínez, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
    • Flávio Keidi Miyazawa, Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Brazil